Skip to main content

From Antiquity to Modernity: 'Blueprint of Modernity'

From Antiquity to Modernity: 'Blueprint of Modernity'


From Antiquity to Modernity: 'Blueprint of Modernity'

Berginald Rash, clarinet
Tania Passendji, violin
Steven Crichlow, violin
Lucy Nolan, viola
Bill Butt, cello

Godwin Sadoh Egba Musical Totem for string quartet
Price Five Folksongs in Counterpoint for string quartet

I. Calvary. Adagio vigoroso
II. Clementine. Tempo Moderato
III. Drink to me only with Thine eyes. Andante cantabile
IV. Shortnin' Bread. Allegro
V. Swing Low, Sweet Chariot. Andantino

Gabriela Ortiz Lío de 4 for string quartet
Rudy Perrault "Hope" from Exodus for string quartet
Coleridge-Taylor Quintet for clarinet & strings in F-sharp minor, Op. 10

I. Allegro energico
II. Larghetto affettuoso - Molto espressivo
III. Scherzo, allegro leggiero
IV. Finale, allegro agitato - Poco più moderato

From Antiquities to Modernity takes audiences on a journey from the icons of classical music to their modern counterparts. Curated by Berginald Rash, the series takes a playful and joyous approach – juxtaposing the old and the new, the canonical and well-known to and recently reappraised and celebrated.

Be moved by the emotionally gripping and evocatively earthy tonal blanket of Black American composer Florence Price’s Five Folksongs in Counterpoint, Nigerian composer Godwin Sadoh’s delightfully charming Egba Musical Totem, Mexican composer Gabriela Ortiz’s passionate and profound Lio de 4, and Haitian composer Rudy Perrault’s prayerful Exodus. These works take the traditional string quartet and transform it into a supremely sacred and solemn body. The quartet is then joined in a celebratory and equally earthy clarinet quintet by mixed race British composer, Samuel Coleridge-Taylor.

Presented by NCH

Book Now
Sunday 19 May 2024
Kevin Barry Recital Room

10% discount for Friends of NCH

Share this event
Facebook twitter


The Home Of Music In Ireland