Skip to main content

NSO: Bruckner 200

NSO: Bruckner 200

NSO Season

NSO: Bruckner 200

National Symphony Orchestra
Hans Graf conductor 
Stefan Jackiw violin 
Mozart Violin Concerto No. 5, Turkish
Bruckner Symphony No. 7 

Two orchestral showpieces and the welcome returns of conductor Hans Graf and violinist Stefan Jackiw.

Mozart’s Fifth Violin Concerto is an invitation to fantasy, moving from virtuosity to tenderness to carefree abandonment, echoes of ‘Turkish’ military music adding a splash of exotic colouring.

Our Bruckner 200 commemorations continue with the most popular symphony in his lifetime and still today, the dark, dreamlike Seventh.

Did you know?

Mozart’s five Violin Concertos were all composed in 1775. He never wrote another.

‘Turkish’ accents also found their way into Mozart’s opera Die Entführung aus dem Serail and the ‘Rondo Alla Turca’ that ends his 11th Piano Sonata.

Bruckner’s Seventh Symphony gave him belated recognition after nearly 30 years of composing.

Listen out for…

Mozart’s different treatments of each movement’s melodies – virtuosic in the first, the second achingly tender, the third wonderfully uninhibited.

The pioneering use in symphonic music of four tubas in Bruckner’s second movement.

The dislocating cymbal crash at the movement’s end – supposedly a reaction to Bruckner’s learning of Wagner’s death.

Presented by NCH

Book Now
Friday 6 Dec 2024
Main Stage
€15, €25, €29, €34.50, €39
Share this event
Facebook twitter