Skip to main content

National Concert Hall Announces Bursaries to Support Young Composers and Singers

24 Apr 2024

National Concert Hall Announces Bursaries to Support Young Composers and Singers

Jerome Hynes Young Composers Competition – open to all young classical and contemporary composers. Award: €2,500 & commissioning of a new work for performance at the NCH. (Deadline: 5pm on Fri. 21st June) Bernadette Greevy Bursary – open to singers of all classical voice types. Award: €5,000 & Recital at NCH. (Deadline: 5pm on Fri. 21st June)

The National Concert Hall is pleased to announce its Jerome Hynes Young Composers Competition and Bernadette Greevy Bursary Award are now open for application. With performance and commissioning opportunities and €7,500 to be won, the National Concert Hall is pleased to once again support and showcase Ireland’s burgeoning musical talent.  


Robert Read, CEO, The National Concert Hall stated:   

“As the home of classical music in Ireland, we are delighted to provide these opportunities for the country’s emerging artists, supporting and nurturing their development and enabling them to bring their skills to fruition. Celebrating and fostering musical and compositional talent at all levels is part of the National Concert Hall’s central purpose and a key function of the NCH Learning and Participation programme, which seeks to promote access, appreciation and enjoyment of music for all. Our thanks to the Department of Tourism, Culture, Arts, Gaeltacht, Sport and Media for their ongoing support of the NCH and our initiatives”.  


The Jerome Hynes Young Composers’ Award 2024 is an opportunity for young composers to have their work recognised and rewarded. The winner will be commissioned by the NCH to produce a new work to be premiered at the NCH. They will also be awarded a cash prize of €2,500. Each applicant is being asked to submit the scores of two existing pieces, at least one of which must be for solo voice and piano. Judging will be anonymous. The award was established in the name of Jerome Hynes, who was the first managing director of Wexford Festival Opera, later becoming its chief executive and former board member of the National Concert Hall, Business 2 Arts, and the West Cork Chamber Music Festival amongst others.  


Previous winners of the Jerome Hynes Young Composers’ Competition are: Robin Haigh (2023), Anselm McDonnell (2022); Timothy Doyle (2020); Kevin Terry (2019); Christopher Moriarty (2018); Robert Coleman (2017); David Coonan (2016); Eoghan Desmond (2015); Alex Dowling and Amanda Feery (2014) and Emma O’Halloran (2013).   


Full details of the application guidelines and application form can be found here 

Deadline for entry is 5pm on Friday 21st June.   



The NCH is inviting singers of all classical voice types to apply for this year’s Bernadette Greevy Bursary. The prize of €5,000 to support the winning singer in their tuition and early career, is in addition to the offer of a recital at the NCH in the following year. The bursary is awarded by the NCH in honour of  the late Irish mezzo-soprano Dr. Bernadette Greevy and is kindly supported by The Department of Tourism, Culture, Arts, Gaeltacht, Sport and Media. Ms. Greevy was a highly influential singer and educator. In addition to her own performing career, she was the founder and artistic director of the Anna Livia Dublin International Opera Festival, and further supported student singers through her masterclasses and work as Artist in Residence at the Dublin Institute of Technology.   


Previous winners of the Bernadette Greevy Bursary Award are: Clare Quinn (2023), Kelli-Ann Masterson (2022), Sarah Richmond (2021), Susie Gibbons (2019), Sinead O’Kelly (2018), Sarha Brady (2017), Padraic Rowan (2016), Roisín Walsh (2015), Gemma Ní Bhriain (2014), Jennifer Davis (2013), Rachel Kelly (2012), Aoife Miskelly (2011), Gavan Ring (2010).   


Full details of the application process and requirements can be found here 

Deadline for applications is 5pm on Friday 21st June.  


All of the aforementioned Bursaries are now open for application with information on each available online at .  

 The National Concert Hall wishes to acknowledge the Department of Culture, Heritage and the Gaeltacht for its kind support of the Bernadette Greevy Bursary for Singers.    



Media Queries to: Sinead Doyle, Marketing  & PR Manager, National Concert Hall, Earlsfort Terrace, Dublin 2. Tel: 01-4170077/087 1775334 or  or Roisin Dwyer, PR & Publications Executive, NCH Tel: 085-7129628 or    


About the National Concert Hall 

The National Concert Hall (NCH) is Ireland’s national cultural institution for music, proudly serving the Irish public since it opened in 1981 through live music performances and significant educational and cultural programmes. Based in the heart of Dublin’s city centre, next door to the picturesque Iveagh Gardens, the NCH is proud home to our National Symphony Orchestra, National Symphony Chorus, Cór Linn and Cór na nÓg, as well as providing residence for a range of other music organisations including Chamber Choir Ireland, Irish Baroque Orchestra, Music Network, Crash Ensemble and Music Generation. It is currently planning for a major redevelopment of all facilities as part of the National Development Plan and Project Ireland 2040.  



Faoi an Ceoláras Náisiúnta 

Is institiúid chultúrtha náisiúnta na hÉireann don cheol é an Ceoláras Náisiúnta, a fhreastalaíonn go bródúil ar phobal na hÉireann ó osclaíodh é i 1981 trí thaibhithe ceoil beo agus cláir shuntasacha oideachais agus chultúrtha. Lonnaithe i gcroílár Bhaile Átha Cliath, agus béal dorais le Gairdíní Uíbh Eachach, tá an Ceoláras Náisiúnta bródúil as ár gCeolfhoireann Shiansach Náisiúnta, Cór Siansach Náisiúnta, Cór Linn agus Cór na nÓg chomh maith le háit chónaithe a chur ar fáil do réimse eagraíochtaí ceoil eile lena n-áirítear Cór Aireagail Éireann, Ceolfhoireann Bharócach na hÉireann, Music Network, Crash Ensemble agus Music Generation. Tá sé i gceist faoi láthair athfhorbairt mór á dhéanamh ar na háiseanna go léir mar chuid den Phlean Forbartha Náisiúnta agus de Thionscadal Éireann 2040.