Skip to main content

NSO Summer Lunchtime

NSO Summer Lunchtime


NSO Summer Lunchtime

National Symphony Orchestra 
Gavin Maloney, conductor
Pawel Waleski, piano

Presented by Liz Nolan, RTÉ lyric fm

Gounod Ballet Music from Faust 
I. Dance of the Nubian Slaves
II. Cleopatra and the Golden Cup
III. Antique Dance
IV. Dance of Cleopatra and Her Slaves
V. Dance of the Trojan Maidens
VI. Mirror Dance
VII. Dance of the Phryne
Liszt Totentanz 
Mussorgsky arr. Rimsky-Korsakov Night on Bald Mountain

A devilish time is guaranteed – in the safety of daylight – as we enter realms of the demonic and fantastic with delirious dances from the Ballet Music from Gounod’s Faust. Mussorgsky’s ever-popular Night on Bald Mountain finds the orchestra possessed by the revelry of a Witches’ Sabbath. 2023 RIAM Maura Dowdall prize-winner Pawel Waleski takes to the piano for Liszt’s thrilling ‘dance with the dead’, Totentanz.

Broadcast on The Full Score with Liz Nolan on RTÉ lyric fm.

Presented by National Symphony Orchestra

Book Now
Tuesday 16 Jul 2024
Main Stage
Share this event
Facebook twitter