Skip to main content

NSO Summer Lunchtime

NSO Summer Lunchtime


NSO Summer Lunchtime

National Symphony Orchestra 
Gabriella Teychenné, conductor
Martin Johnson, cello
Presented by Liz Nolan, RTÉ lyric fm

Mozart The Marriage of Figaro Overture
Richard Strauss Romanze for cello and orchestra 
Florence Price Andante Moderato from String Quartet No. 1 (arr. P.S. Martin)
Mendelssohn Nocturne and Scherzo from A Midsummer Night’s Dream 
Fauré Élégie(for cello and orchestra)
Brahms Hungarian Dance No. 1

National Symphony Orchestra principal cello Martin Johnson steps into the limelight to show off the instrument’s gorgeous singing voice in Richard Strauss’ lyrical Romanze and Fauré’s exquisitely romantic Élégie. There’s orchestral brilliance in Mozart’s thrilling Marriage of Figaro Overture, the dreamy Nocturne and animated Scherzo from Mendelssohn’s A Midsummer Night’s Dream, and Brahms’s gypsy-infused First Hungarian Dance. A revelation, too, in a soaring, soulful orchestral version of the Andante Moderato from Florence Price’s First String Quartet. 

Broadcast on The Full Score with Liz Nolan on RTÉ lyric fm.

Presented by National Symphony Orchestra

Book Now
Tuesday 18 Jun 2024
Main Stage
Share this event
Facebook twitter