Skip to main content

Bursaries and Awards

Bernadette Greevy Bursary For Singers

One singer per year will be awarded the bursary of €5,000 by the National Concert Hall, in honour of Irish mezzo-soprano Dr Bernadette Greevy

Dubliner Bernadette Greevy was the first Irish winner of Harriet Cohen International Music Award for Outstanding Artistry.

She was the founder and artistic director of the Anna Livia Dublin International Opera Festival, and further supported student singers through her masterclasses and work as Artist in Residence at the Dublin Institute of Technology.

She is remembered for wonderful performances and recordings of oratorio and song; her recordings include Handel, Haydn, Bach and she was acclaimed in particular for her interpretation of Mahler. She also championed new Irish music, premiering works by Irish composers.

Honours include:

  • The Order of Merit of Malta;
  • Honorary Doctorate of Music, National University of Ireland;
  • Honorary Doctorate of Music, Trinity College, Dublin;
  • The Holy Cross Pro Ecclesia et Pontifice.

The winner of the bursary will receive €5,000, and return to The National Concert Hall at the end of the following year for the Bernadette Greevy Bursary Recital.

Deadline for 2023 Bursary: 5PM, 10 May 2023

* Please note that previous winners are ineligible to re-enter.

Past winners:

  • 2022 Kelli-Ann Masterson
  • 2021 Sarah Richmond
  • 2019 Susie Gibbons
  • 2018 Sinéad O'Kelly
  • 2017 Sarah Brady
  • 2016 Padraic Rowan
  • 2015 Roisín Walsh
  • 2014 Gemma Ní Bhriain
  • 2013 Jennifer Davis
  • 2012 Rachel Kelly
  • 2011 Aoife Miskelly
  • 2010 Gavan Ring

The National Concert Hall wishes to acknowledge the Department of Tourism, Culture, Arts, Gaeltacht, Sport and Media for its kind support of the Bernadette Greevy Bursary for Singers.