Music in Mind



NATIONAL

HALL AN

CEOLÁRAS

NÁISIÚNTA

Our vision is that anyone living with mental health concerns should have the opportunity to participate in collective music making, and to experience the benefits that this can bring.

Key Aims:

- To deliver a quality music programme to people in the community living with mental health difficulties or young people at risk of mental health difficulties.
- To improve the quality of life for those living with mental health difficulties though active engagement with music.
- To give people in the community living with mental health difficulties the equality of access to experience and learn music through singing in a choir, or playing percussion as part of an ensemble.
- To enhance mental wellbeing through group music playing.
- To provide social activity and new ways of self-expression.
- To document and evaluate the process with all the partners involved.

Musicians Essential Skills:

- Experience of and interest in working with community groups through music.
- A flexible approach and understanding of the needs of the participants within this type of activity.
- Skills which encourage and support the participants to grow in confidence and improve their quality of life.
- An interest in being involved in the development of a music programme.

Selection criteria:

- Music practice/quality and originality of ideas.
- Experience in leading community groups in either group singing or group drumming (percussion).
- Experience of working in a similar context.

Selection Process:

This is a limited selection process. Musicians are invited to submit a letter of interest and CV. Those shortlisted will be invited to interview.

Expressions of interest to be sent to education@nch.ie.

Closing date: 5pm, Friday 27th September 2024

The successful candidate(s) will be required to undergo Garda Vetting.

National Concert Hall Earlsfort Terrace, Dublin 2, D02 N527, Ireland

Admin +353 1 417 0077 Box Office + 353 1 417 0000 Online www.nch.ie Email info@nch.ie

Board of Directors Maura McGrath Chair James Cavanagh Rebecca Gageby Gerard Gillen Eleanor McEvoy Máire O'Connor Michael O'Donovan John Revnolds

Don Thornhill

Patron Michael D. Higgins *President of Ireland*