Skip to main content

Pavel Haas Quartet (Short Concert)

Pavel Haas Quartet (Short Concert)


Pavel Haas Quartet (Short Concert)

part of the Migrations String Quartet Weekend

Vítězslava Kaprálová String Quartet No. 1, Op. 8 
Bedřich Smetana String Quartet No. 1 in E minor From my life

This mid-afternoon concert featuring the Pavel Haas Quartet sees the award-winning Czech string quartet perform music by their compatriots. The concert opens with Vítězslava Kaprálová’s String Quartet No 1, written in 1935 while she holidayed in the scenic countryside of the Czech-Moravian Highlands. The piece is said to reflect her surroundings offering a sense of ease and calm. Smetana’s autobiographical and much-loved first string quartet, encompasses the politics and culture that resulted from his Austro Hungarian/ethnic Czech upbringing. Of it he reflected: ‘I wanted to picture in tones the course of my life’.

Presented by NCH

Book Now
Saturday 24 Feb 2024
Kevin Barry Recital Room
Share this event
Facebook twitter


The Home Of Music In Ireland