Skip to main content

NSO: Haigh, Buckley, Dennehy

NMD24: NSO - Haigh, Buckley, Dennehy


NMD24: NSO - Haigh, Buckley, Dennehy

National Symphony Orchestra
David Brophy, conductor
Iarla Ó Lionáird, voice
Stephen Waarts, violin 

Robin Haigh SLEEPTALKER (2021) [Irish premiere]
Linda Buckley New work [world premiere]
Donnacha Dennehy Violin Concerto (2020) [Irish premiere]
From dreamlike, clouded visions of the future to fiery, virtuosic playing on the edge of possibility, this performance by the National Symphony Orchestra features two Irish premieres alongside the world premiere of a newly commissioned work by award-winning Irish composer Linda Buckley.

Described as ‘magnificently expressive’ (New York Times), vocalist Iarla Ó Lionáird is the featured soloist in Buckley’s new work, which forms the centrepiece of this programme. Opening the concert is SLEEPTALKER by Robin Haigh (2023 recipient of the NCH Jerome Hynes Young Composer Award), an atmospheric exploration of dreams as metaphors for predictions of the future—while Donnacha Dennehy's Violin Concerto with internationally acclaimed soloist Stephen Waarts brings the evening to a thrilling conclusion.

Linda Buckley's new work was commissioned by the National Symphony Orchestra and New Music Dublin.

Presented by New Music Dublin in partnership with NCH & RTÉ and supported by The Arts Council

Book Now
Friday 26 Apr 2024
Main Stage Unreserved

Concessions: €10

Discount Packages

  • Festival Package - All ticketed concerts at NCH & beyond - €224. BOOK HERE
  • Four Main Stage concerts - €70 BOOK HERE
  • 10 Concerts for 15% off. BOOK HERE
  • 5 Concerts for 10% off. BOOK HERE
  • Diatribe Stage - 5 concerts - €60. BOOK HERE
Share this event
Facebook twitter