Order for
Your shopping cart is empty.
NCH Chamber Music Series 2019/2020

Resound - NCH & Sounding The Feminists Series

October 2019- March 2020

Buy Tickets

Continuing a major five year project exploring the work of women composers over the centuries.

Presented by NCH in partnership with ‘Sounding the Feminists’ and supported by the Department of Culture, Heritage and the Gaeltacht and Creative Ireland.



Sharon Carty

Sharon Carty, mezzo-soprano & Úna Hunt, piano

Thursday 23rd January, 7.30pm

A programme of French music by women composers including Pauline Viardot (1821-1910), Cécile Chaminade (1857-1944), Mélanie Bonis (1858-1937) and Germaine Tailleferre (1892 -1983) as well as little-known Franco-Irish composers Augusta Holmès (1847-1903) and Hope Temple (1859-1938)


Cassiopeia Wind Quintet

Wednesday 12th February, 7.30pm

Catriona Ryan flute
Matthew Manning oboe
Deirdre O’Leary clarinet
John Hearne bassoon
Cormac Ó hAodáin horn

Amy Beach Pastorale Op. 151
Claude Arrieu Quintet in C major
Jennifer Walshe like glass in a mirror on a window pane
Joan Trimble Three Diversions
Elaine Agnew Colmcille
Elena Kats-Chernin Sand Waltz

Please note this concert takes place in The Studio @ NCH

Cassiopeia Wind Quintet
Irish Baroque Orchestra

Irish Baroque Orchestra with Claire Duff, violin/director

Saturday 7th MArch, 7.30pm

La Donna Barocca

Celebrating the 400th anniversary of Isabella Leonarda’s birth and the music of Élizabeth-Claude Jacquet de la Guerre.

Hildegard von Bingen Ave generosa
Isabella Leonarda Sonata Op. 16 No. 7
Isabella Leonarda Ave sauvis dilecto, con violini
(Op. 6 No. 5 from 12 Motteti)
Isabella Leonarda Sonata Op. 16 No. 1
Élisabeth-Claude Jacquet de La Guerre
Pieces de clavecin 170 [Harpsichord solo]
Élisabeth-Claude Jacquet de La Guerre
Trio Sonata in B flat major
Élisabeth-Claude Jacquet de La Guerre
Le Sommeil d’Ulysse “Cantates Françoises” Livre 3, 1715


Hard Rain SoloistEnsemble

Saturday 21st MArch, 7.30pm

Jane O’Leary New work (2019 HRSE commission)
Misato Moshizuki All that is including me
Judith Weir Blue Green Hill
Gráinne Mulvey LUCA (2018 HRSE Commission)
Amy Rooney New work (2019 HRSE Commission)
Sophia Gubaidulina Allegro Rustico
Joan Tower Petroushskates

Please note this concert takes place in The Studio @ NCH

Hard Rain Soloist Ensemble