Spring Summer Variations

Music to lift the spirit

Thursday 10th June

Buy Tickets

Irish Baroque Orchestra
Aisling Kenny
, soprano
Peter Whelan, director

Bach Cantata BWV 82a, 'Ich habe genug' 
Handel Sonata, HWV 399 
Bach Cantata BWV 51, 'Jauchzet Gott' 

In this programme the Irish Baroque Orchestra and soprano Aisling Kenny showcase the huge breadth of Bach’s genius even when using economical forces - two Cantatas for solo soprano and orchestra which explore the polar extremes of the human condition. Cantata 82a, ‘Ich habe genug’ (in the rarely heard version for soprano and solo flute) is an exquisite meditation on earthly suffering and a longing for the release of the afterlife whereas Cantata BWV 51, ‘Jauchzet Gott in allen Landen’, is a joyous affirmation of life with its celebratory Alleluias for solo trumpet and voice. 

The Irish Baroque Orchestra is acclaimed as Ireland's flagship period music ensemble and delivers historically-informed performances to the highest standards at home and abroad. Under the artistic direction of Peter Whelan, each member of the orchestra explores the playing techniques and performance styles of the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries, and performs only on baroque instruments or modern replicas. 


The concert will be available to tickets holders for 48 hours following the performance

Tickets for the stream are available exclusively via DICE.fm

Instructions for booking your livestream tickets via dice.fm are here

The NCH Spring Summer Variations series is presented in collaboration with the Irish Chamber Orchestra, National String Quartet Foundation, Camerata Ireland, Irish Baroque Orchestra and The Department of Tourism, Culture, Arts, Gaeltacht, Sport and Media. 

Supported by RTÉ Supporting the Arts and RTE Lyric FM.

Also as part of Spring Summer Variations