Order for
Your shopping cart is empty.
RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra Season 18/19

Stanford, Buckley, Boyle

Friday 1st February 2019

Buy Tickets

Towards 2022

RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra
David Brophy conductor
Fergal Caulfield organ

Stanford Irish Rhapsody No. 2, ‘The Lament for the Son of Ossian’ / 16’
John Buckley  Concerto for Organ and Orchestra / 29’
This performance will be dedicated to the memory of Peter Sweeney (1950-2018)
Ina Boyle Symphony No. 1, ‘Glencree’ / 28’

Soundings: Free pre-concert talk at 6.30pm. Conductor David Brophy and composer John Buckley in conversation with Ellen Cranitch, RTÉ lyric fm.

Get acquainted with three remarkable Irish voices.

Prepare to be punched by sound with the spectacular power and poetry of John Buckley’s Concerto for Organ and Orchestra. Guaranteed to make you realise that ‘the king of instruments’.

Heard on the National Concert Hall’s organ for which it was written (and the first work to be played on it by Peter Sweeney) in 1991, Buckley’s concerto is a fire-burst of colour, a thunderstorm of noise and an adrenaline-filled rollercoaster ride all in one that pushes the organ to its extremes and dazzles with its gleeful cascade of voices mimicking other instruments.

All the wild, wondrous beauty of the Glencree Valley in her native County Wicklow is conjured by Ina Boyle’s First Symphony. The illustrious Vaughan Williams had great hopes for Boyle – one of the great treasures of Irish music – and the evocative atmospheres and fragrant melodies of Glencree demonstrate why. It’s an escape into the grandeur and delicacy of nature in the company of the most lyrical of guides.

A more fantastic journey into the ancient myths of Ireland and the death of a son and the terrible rage that follows awaits in Stanford’s Second Irish Rhapsody. Traditional airs and tunes add to the heady perfumes of legend and sear with their beauty and power.

Presented by RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra