Order for
Your shopping cart is empty.
RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra

Slatkin, Barber, Brahms

Friday 20th September 2019

Buy Tickets

Culture Night

Leonard Slatkin Conducts

RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra
Leonard Slatkin, conductor
Xiayin Wang, piano

Slatkin Kinah / 12’
Barber Piano Concerto / 26’
Brahms Symphony No. 4 / 39’

With Leonard Slatkin, one of the world’s most acclaimed conductors, at the helm, don’t miss this concert. Hailed for his ‘marriage of passion and precision, formality and flexibility, with an expressive heart’ (Classical Source), Slatkin is a legend in his own lifetime, his every appearance an occasion to anticipate and savour.

In the first of two concerts this season, take this unmissable opportunity to enjoy the drama and delicacy, beauty and pain, power and poetry of music when given full voice with all the unique thrilling grandeur that a symphony orchestra can offer.

Also a noted composer, Slatkin’s moving Kinah is dedicated to the memory of his parents (violinist Felix Slatkin and cellist Eleanor Aller of the legendary Hollywood String Quartet) and revels in music’s ability to say what words can’t. Full of aching feeling and honest emotions, it’s a work that touches the heart.

Star in the making and ‘an exceptionally talented musician with an intensive mastery of her instrument’ (The Arts Desk), the young Chinese piano virtuoso Xiayin Wang takes centre stage for Samuel Barber’s Pulitzer Prize-winning Piano Concerto. Composed in 1962, it collides old and new, Europe and America, a dizzying cascade of influences from Tchaikovsky to jazz to create something that sounds timeless but is wonderfully fresh and modern.

And to finish: a bona fide masterpiece. Brahms’ Fourth Symphony is a glorious burst of feelings that makes exhilarating use of a symphony orchestra in all its unforgettable ability to stir heart and soul alike.

Presented by RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra