National Symphony orchestra

NSO and Jaime Martín:
Ellen Reid, Tchaikovsky, Richard Strauss

Friday 2nd December, 2022

Buy Tickets

National Symphony Orchestra
Jaime Martín
, conductor
Nemanja Radulović, violin

Ellen Reid Floodplain NSO Co-Commission with Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra & American Composers Orchestra (Irish Premiere) 
Tchaikovsky Violin Concerto
Richard Strauss An Alpine Symphony

Danger stalks an evening of high drama and romance with the Irish premiere of Ellen Reid’s Floodplain, Richard Strauss’s stirring hymnal to the Alps, and a tortured cri de cœur from Tchaikovsky courtesy of the charismatic Nemanja Radulović.

‘Like a river of sound overflowing its banks and then evaporating’ (Los Angeles Times), Pulitzer Prize-winner Ellen Reid’s Floodplain was commissioned by the National Symphony Orchestra, the Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra and the American Composers Orchestra. Its Irish premiere reveals a work inspired by a landscape that is, the composer says, ‘both lush and dangerous’.

Delayed (and dyspeptically coloured) by the pandemic, Floodplain is a searing response to environmental threat lit up by vivid rhythmic ideas that echo through the piece to undergo various transformations.

The sense of peril and threat that permeate it is mirrored by the ‘eternal, magnificent nature’ extolled by Richard Strauss’s An Alpine Symphony – a stunning, picture-postcard journey through the imposing peaks of the Alps from ‘night to night’. Along the way is a kaleidoscope of images: sunrise above mountainous peaks, a dazzling waterfall, distant echoes of yodelling on green pastures, a thunderous storm, and even an imagined encounter with a fairy.

Nemanja Radulović’s ‘sound is utterly beautiful… his technique is boundless’ (Seen and Heard), so expect something special from Tchaikovsky’s tempestuous, tortured and thrilling, Violin Concerto. A veritable ballet in sound, violin and orchestra bound together with his stunning sense of intermingled rhapsody and drama, it is one of the truly great concertos for the instrument, pulse-quickening and heart-stopping in its often raw poetry.

Presented by National Symphony Orchestra

Terrace on OpenTable