National symphony orchestra

Clara Schumann, Brahms

friday 20th May, 2022

Buy Tickets


Gerhard Markson, conductor
Alexandra Dariescu , piano
Jennifer Davis, soprano
Ben McAteer, baritone
National Symphony Chorus (Chorus Director: David Young)
Presented by Paul Herriott, RTÉ lyric fm

Clara Schumann Piano Concerto
Brahms Ein deutsches Requiem

Brahms’ Ein deutsches Requiem is a beautiful, stirring and heartfelt expression of loss that offers comfort to the living even as it laments the dead. Dwelling on the hope of Resurrection rather than the fear of Judgement Day, Ein deutsches Requiem was begun as a memorial to Clara Schumann’s composer-husband, Robert, and completed following the death of Brahms’s mother. It is a sublimely moving Requiem like no other.

With no strong faith of his own, Brahms’s use of texts from the Lutheran Bible sets his Requiem apart, just as his focus on the living creates a uniquely profound experience. At its heart is a radiant choral passage that replaces expected fire and brimstone with warming consolation to movingly suggest that love survives even death.

Light and shade is also intermingled in Clara Schumann’s only Piano Concerto. Composed when she was just 14, it’s a work of affecting poetry and passion, the vibrantly full and dramatic orchestral accompaniment brilliantly framing heartfelt virtuosic writing for the piano.
Former Principal Conductor Gerhard Markson makes a welcome return and the brilliant young Romanian pianist Alexandra Dariescu makes her National Symphony Orchestra debut with the precocious lyrical power of Schumann’s Piano Concerto.

The National Symphony Chorus and two of today’s finest young singing talents – soprano Jennifer Davis, ‘the epitome of class and poise’ (GoldenPlec), and ‘simply brilliant’ (Planet Hugill) baritone Ben McAteer – join the National Symphony Orchestra for Brahms’s Requiem.

Presented by National Symphony Orchestra