National Symphony orchestra

NSO and Case Scaglione:
Ives, Beethoven, Sibelius

Friday 10th February, 2023

Buy Tickets

National Symphony Orchestra
Case Scaglione
, conductor
Federico Colli, piano

Ives The Unanswered Question
Beethoven Piano Concerto No. 4
Sibelius Symphony No. 1

Going in search of the great perhaps… heart, soul and imagination combine in music to make you feel and think.

Delve into the unfathomable realms of the head and heart with three mighty works peering into the darkest corners of the soul to emerge in enigmatic mystery, effusive lyricism and irresistible yearning. Making their welcome returns to the National Symphony Orchestra, Case Scaglione – ‘Follow this conductor… truly a deeply musical musician… a Musician’s Musician’ (Diapason) – and pianist Federico Colli – ‘Whatever he plays, whatever he does compels attention’ (The Times)

Charles Ives’ The Unanswered Question is a stunning exercise in giving musical voice to a philosophy in search of ‘the invisible answer’. Composed in the early 20th century when music was at a crossroads, it is one of the most enigmatic but influential and enduring statements of modern times.

With its innovative solo piano opening, Beethoven’s lyrical Fourth Piano Concerto is a high-watermark of the repertoire. Its premiere in late-December 1808 with the composer himself at the keyboard marked his last public appearance as a soloist. A work of startling originality, it remains one of the most remarkable examples of music’s ability to interrogate – and reveal – the heart, soul and imagination.

A long, sinuous, soulful clarinet introduces the First Symphony by Sibelius. Composed in the last year of the 19th century, packed with tunes carried aloft by silvery strings and airy woodwinds, and propelled forward by exuberant brass and percussion, it also packs a hefty punch. It ends with a grand orchestral flourish that marked Sibelius as the most original symphonic voice since Beethoven.

Presented by National Symphony Orchestra