Order for
Your shopping cart is empty.

John Lynch Chamber Music Project

Wednesday 8th May 2019

Buy Tickets

the Studio

wednesday 8th may 2019

Conor Linehan piano
Elaine Clark violin
Úna Ní Chanainn cello
Richard O’Donnell percussion
Stephen Kelly percussion
Oliver Taylor percussion

Shostakovich: Symphony No. 15 (version for piano and percussion)
Piazzolla: The Four Seasons of Buenos Aires

The third season of John Lynch Chamber Music Project concludes with a fascinating concert of the music of Piazzolla and Shostakovich. In this series of concerts members of the National Symphony Orchestra and RTE Concert Orchestra remember their colleague through the enjoyment of playing chamber music together. 
Argentina’s most celebrated composer, Astor Piazzolla, injected his native tango music with modern chromaticism, elements of jazz, and his contrapuntal skill to bring the traditional dance from the streets of Buenos Aries to concert halls the world over. The Four Seasons of Buenos Aires contains some of the composer’s most vibrant, vigorous and understandably most popular music.

Shostakovich’s 15th and final Symphony is a surreal musical tapestry that is both beguiling and weird. Quotes from Rossini and Wagner operas weave through Shostakovich’s familiar stark and ironic music to produce a work that leaves the listener asking questions long after the music has ended. The composer gave his blessing to Victor Derevyanko to make a version of the work for three percussionists, piano, violin and cello and this lean arrangement provides a fascinating slant into this enigmatic work.