Irish Chamber Orchestra

mozart, wilson & Bruckner

Tuesday 1st February, 2022

Buy Tickets

Mozart Serenade No. 6, K. 239, Serenata Notturna 
Ian Wilson The Seventh Seal 
Bruckner String Quintet in F Major WAB 112 (for string orchestra arr. Zehetmair) 

Mozart’s Serenata Notturna is one of his happiest and most entertaining works. It brims with comic contrasts creating a sound-world of its own.  Principals Christian Elliott and Malachy Robinson and their ICO colleagues present the world premiere of Ian Wilson’s The Seventh Seal – a new concerto for cello and double bass, commissioned by the ICO.  Zehetmair’s arrangement of Anton Bruckner’s String Quintet, a brilliant Romantic work, is symphonic in scale but intimate in character, full of tension and passion.

“A virtuoso technique married to a musical mind that won’t take anything for granted. Zehetmair seems to find answers where other musicians don’t even see questions …” Andrew McGregor - BBC Radio 3

Presented by the Irish Chamber Orchestra