Order for
Your shopping cart is empty.
Login What's On

The Bartók Project (No. 6)

Sunday 26th March, 3.00pm

RTÉ Contempo Quartet

Room: The Kevin Barry Recital Room
Prices: €15
Book all 6 concerts for a total of €75.  To avail of this offer click HERE

RTÉ Contempo Quartet

Haydn: Quartet Op 76, no 6 in E flat
Séan Clancy: Four Lines of Music Slow Down and Eventually Stop  (new RTÉ commission)
Béla Bartók: Quartet no 6 in D, BB119

The Bartók Project concludes with Quartet no 6, written in 1939 on the eve World War 2 and as before in his second quartet, it contains his horrified response to the rise of xenophobia and violence rapidly overtaking Europe.

In contrast, Haydn marked his Op 76 no 6, to be played “with freedom”. Described as a “harmonic labyrinth” (Somfai) it makes a fitting and triumphant conclusion to his last complete set of quartets.  Sean Clancy’s 'Four Lines of Music Slow Down and Eventually Stop' is the final new RTÉ commission to be premiered during the project.

Presented by the RTÉ Contempo Quartet

Preferred Partners